The Night Driver/Chase

Continuing on with Italo Calvino’s wonderful story collection The Complete Cosmicomics I had to take two days to figure out how to draw these stories. Calvino uses words graphically. So clear are his pictures-built-with-words that I tremble at the thought of trying to turn them into sketches. For two days I struggled with this (except during the final game of the World Series in which I didn’t think of anything else but Go Cubs!). This is what my little brain came up with.

calvinodriving

Today’s sketch is actually two different stories. Each story is far more complex than my quote would lead you to believe. I can’t say it enough: if you like pictures and you like words, you need to read this book.

Materials List: Stillman and Birn Sketchbook, Uniball Signo 207 in three sizes: regular, micro, and ultra micro, coffee (yes, I’m Old School).

Leave a Reply

