Hawking My Wares

As I’ve said, Paul Beatty’s The Sellout: A Novel is an extremely visual novel. There is so much I could sketch that it is hard to decide. Then I read this quote, from Kindle Location 853, which includes its own suggested musical accompaniment,  and the decision was easy.

selloutloc853

I’m trying out a brand new nib. Up until now I’ve been using Speedball Sketching Project Set“>Speedball nibs. I’ve been learning about how to use the different sizes. I decided to try MyLifeUNIT Tachikawa Comic G Nib, Manga G-Pen Nib, Pack of 3“>manga nibs and, be still my heart, I’m in love with them.

For some reason I thought using a Speedball 108 nib for the lettering would be a good idea. Oh well.

Also, that’s the first horse I’ve drawn that even comes close to looking like a horse, so I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

