It’s a Shame, not a Precedent

I didn’t plan on running posts from two novels simultaneously, but here I am again: one post/two novels, scenes I read within a day or so of each other. I’d put it down to my general reading habits and choosing certain kinds of books, but this is the first time I’ve read Justin Cronin and reading The Passage is at the suggestion of a stranger. I chose Les Miserables by Victor Hugo because it was a very big book – my copy is over 1400 pages – so I wouldn’t have to find something good to read again too soon.

There is a suggested musical accompaniment for today’s post: The Grateful Dead’s Throwing Stones.

ashame

A special thanks to Manzanar, a National Historic Site not too far from my home. Places like Manzanar are part of what makes America great, places that face up to the terrible errors we’ve made as a country and work to educate Americans and the world so it will never happen again. If you’re not quite sure what the word internment means, feel free to click the link – it will take you to a thesaurus page.

Leave a Reply

