Hunting for the Right Word

I’ve long put off reading Susan Howe’s My Emily Dickinson. It seems to have uneven critiques and it is very short – I didn’t want to plunk down money for a short book (sorry, I don’t generally love short books) that seemed to have a 50/50 chance of offering me something. I wasn’t convinced I could love Emily Dickinson any more, but I hadn’t considered loving Emily Dickinson differently.

Wrong. The book itself a journey. If you love poetry and love how it takes your mind to both tiny and tremendous places that were always within your grasp, and yet you had not yet visited…you’ll like Susan Howe’s book.

Today’s drawing was pretty much an accident. It is done on my sketch pad and started out as thumbnails for Probably In Love, practice pieces that were meant for the dust bin. Then, one thing lead to another and I found myself doodling on the sketches while ruminating on Susan Howe’s words and on Emily Dickinson’s words, and the colored pencils were on my desk, and today’s post happened.

myemilyhunt

 

Leave a Reply

